A Few Of My Favorite Things

I’ve been up since too early for consciousness.  I mean, I’ve been awake since about an hour before the sun bothered to peek up over the horizon.  I’ve consideried going back to bed.

Why would anyone in their right mind do this (be up) if they didn’t have to?  Normally, I’d say they’d have to be out of their mind, but as it happens, T has gone to Canada for a seminar and his taxi to the airport was leaving at 6:40am.  So we’ve been up since 5:40am, and I made him coffee and then shared it, and so here I am, waiting for a text message, missing him already, and not asleep.  Normally, however, I would be.  Asleep.  I love sleeping.

And so, with my brain running mostly on neutral (and how well does your brain function this early in the morning?!), I’ve decided to write about things I love.  Other than sleep, that is.  The inspiration for this post came from the blog of the illustrious Sophie, which had a post somewhat like it, which I enjoyed reading.  A lot.  And not just because Sophie is a friend, but because reading the post way back last summer, I realised that it’s a list that is very much worth making for myself.

Why?  Because we all have a busy life.  Really busy.  Even me, studying from home as I do, I don’t actually have that much “free” time.  I have time to do things I want (read, write, study, cook, cuddle T, water my flowers, etc.), but I don’t have time I don’t have anything to do with.  In fact, I’ve always wondered about people who go “I’m bored…” and expect the world at large or their friends to entertain them, but that’s a story for another post entirely.  Back to the list of favorite things – after reading Sophie’s, I came to the conclusion that if one writes one’s favorite things to do, eat, have, look at, etc. down, they are on paper, and then they are much harder to forget about/ignore in the hamsterwheel of day to day life.  And before you protest that you don’t forget about your favorite things – I don’t know about you.  I know that when I think about it, I realise that I do, and if I don’t think about them, I don’t do them – the things that I enjoy.  Which is, let’s face it, pretty silly in a not-good way.

Another thing which I’ve talked to a friend about recently is how a lot of people have one favorite everything – a favorite color, a favorite flavor, a favorite X.  I realised that while I do have preferences, I don’t actually have singular favorites, and so listing the variations became even more of a good idea, in the sense that perhaps I am overlooking something I’d like if I thought about it more.

Also, reading someone else’s list made me think of a handful of things which I hadn’t ever considered, but which really ought to end up on my list.  And so, I am writing it.  In no particular order.

  • Coffee.  A lot of it, medium-roast with loads of milk, sweetener, and possibly whipped cream.  Or a good latte made so it’s not bitter.
  • Sleeping.  Sleeping well, at night, in a cool but not cold room, in a huge pile of bedding.  Preferably with T to curl up next to.
  • Tea.  Green, oolong, black.  No, rooibos (red ‘tea’) is not tea!
  • Really good shampoo and conditioner.
  • Long black dresses which, when worn, make T stare happily.
  • Writing.  Blog, poetry, prose, nonfiction, whatever.
  • Reading.  A lot.  I’m a very fast reader, so fat books are a plus.
  • Sharp bladed weapons (swords, daggers, that sort).  I guess good kitchen knives go under this category, too.
  • Cast iron cookware.  Also doubles as blunt weapons or home bread oven.
  • Really good lip balm.  Or just pure shea butter out of a jar directly onto lips.
  • Cacti.
  • Leaves turning in the autumn.

  • Quinces.
  • Coconut ice cream and saffron-honey ice cream.  Also, fresh strawberry ice cream.  And … ok, good ice cream in general.
  • Bath+unlimited hot water supply.
  • Bras in correct size.  Pretty ones.  With matching undies.
  • M&S hold-ups with lace tops.  Black.
  • Meat.  Preferably beef, preferably not very cooked.  Steak cooked bleu or rare is amazing!
  • Cured meats (charcuterie) – French, Italian, Hungarian, Spanish, you name it, I want it.  Let’s not leave out the Germans and the Austrians, either!
  • Oil paintings – mostly of pre-1930s.
  • Mushrooms.  The sorts you eat, not the sort you get high on.
  • Apricots.
  • Outdoor swimming pools (with weather/climate to match).
  • Candlelight.
  • Beautiful ceramic dishes and vases.

  • Dragons.
  • Arugula (aka rocket or rucola)
  • Curling up in a warm pile of blankets on sofa when it’s snowing or raining outside.
  • Skinny dipping in natural bodies of water.
  • Fancy dress-up events.  Or any rason to wear beautiful clothes.
  • Cats.
  • Tobias.
  • Citrus trees.
  • Soup.
  • Wide-brim hats.
  • Spending time with friends.
  • Long dresses in colors other than brown, beige, pink, turquoise or teal.
  • Really high heels.
  • Fur.

  • Old buildings.  Or ruins.
  • Men in formal wear.
  • Jewellery.
  • Food magazines.
  • Expensive scented candles.  Good perfume in general.
  • Sunlight – at any time of year.
  • Very cold prosecco in crystal flutes.
  • Waterlilies.
  • Restaurants that cook better than I do.
  • Milk chocolate.
Meet my ORANGE dress. Also in this photo, an orange soup I met last summer.
  • Really bright colors.  Especially purple, crimson red and orange.
  • Egyptian cotton sheets.
  • Being right.
  • Libraries, bookstores, and any place full of books, old or new.
  • Roses.  In any color that’s not pink or dyed.  Also to eat.
  • White star chrysanthemums.
  • Stationery.  Preferably Italian, preferably very pretty.
  • Cast iron things other than cookware.
  • Shiny, sparkly lip gloss.  I just wish it’d not get all over T’s face when I wear it.  (I swear, teenagers get away with this sort of stuff because they don’t actually smooch anyone a whole lot!)
  • Boots No. 7 eye shadow and mascara – they stay where you put them.  Really, I kid you not!
  • Cooking for people.
  • Lanterns.
  • Fresh blue mussels, cooked by me.
  • Cashemere scarves.
  • Leather gloves.

  • Orchids.  Looking at, owning, growing.  Getting to bloom.
  • Things made of terracotta.
  • Koi ponds.
  • The way I feel after a yoga class.
  • Seeing new places.
  • Canadian maple syrup.

I could go on.  And on.  And perhaps at some point I will, but this has gotten long enough already to make me think of things I should do, should do more, or haven’t done in a while because I’d not thought how much I enjoyed them in ages.  So, I am going to rectify that, starting with making myself some lunch.  Involving arugula.  And some prosciutto crudo as well, why the heck not?  Life’s too short not to do, see, eat and enjoy your favorite things.

5 thoughts on “A Few Of My Favorite Things

  1. Wow you came up with a lot of detailed things you love at such an early hour of the morning. My list would have been like… food. sleep. candy. Ha! You make me want to do a love list! I’ll give you credit, don’t worry ;)

  2. Whoa! Your brain is certainly functioning well at that hour. Awww … how sweet. I know how you feel coz my other half is leaving for Europe and I’m already missing him! So, instead of writing a long list of my favorite things (hehe), I’m taking myself off to Singapore for the weekend with a friend to visit a friend and meet more friends!
    I love your list … it looks like you love everything in life! Such a happy, contented person. Reading this list makes me all warm and fuzzy inside coz a lot of it reminds me of the things I love too!

  3. Jocey – hi!

    And ahm, I guess I was more than a little caffeinated! Also, candy is rarely on my list unless it’s really good chocolate, as I am sugar-sensitive. Although homemade caramels make it pretty darn close! And thanks, though the idea is not mine originally!

    Ping, I can soo relate! I have a friend coming over tomorrow and Saturday I am going to visit with another, so there are plans here too! But yes, I miss him! And, thanks for the compliment – it’s actually really interesting to look at my own list and go “oh, so that’s what I am like”. And then I want to see what others would write, so dooo eeeeeiiiit! :)

    1. They are wonderful! If you have any questions, by all means, do ask! I learned most I know (aside from bio degree) from a lot of helpful folks at an orchid forum board.

Leave a Reply

