Norway: I have never been there before. It is a new place.

You know, I have never actually been to Norway.  I mean, I’ve heard about the place, I’ve seen pictures and videos, because it’s famously beautiful, and I’ve wanted to go visit at some point, because it’s not a distant land, and I can read Norwegian (it’s very close to Swedish), if not speak it, but the fact is that I hadn’t gotten around to visiting it.  Now we are moving there, instead.

Yes, you’ve heard read that right.

Why?  Well, my standard answer to why move somewhere (not unsafe or terrible) is – “I’ve never been there before.  It is a new place.”  And, this is exactly what I said to T a couple of weeks ago, when he told me that he’s received an offer of a position of a professor at a university in Telemark (South-Eastern Norway, not far from the capital).  It would appear that it is time to sort our stuff, give away excess houseplants (no, I can’t take them all with me, but the specimen orchids are getting shipped), and go onwards and upwards (literally, because Fjäll mountains), and, in this case, back Westwards, after living pretty far East (for Europe) for three and a half years.

The past several days as I went about my usual errands (shopping, etc.), I’ve let shopkeepers and restaurant staff that I chat to on a regular basis, know that when we disappear in a couple of months, it’s not because we don’t like them or their businesses anymore, but because we are leaving – and that we will miss them, and all we’ve liked about the city.  And we will, because Central Finland is a beautiful place, Jyväskylä is a very nice town, and we’ve made many friends here during our stay.

We plan to come back and visit, and we have loved living here.  Finland has been very, very good to us, so this is a bittersweet goodbye – it is good to have had the chance to live here and get to know how it is.  Life is short, world is big, and ahead of us is a new place.

Image “Summer Landscape – Telemark” courtesy Randi Hauksen via Wikimedia Commons.

4 thoughts on “Norway: I have never been there before. It is a new place.

    1. Do they? I’m going to have to try to speak to them in Swedish (svenska), rather than mixing Swedish and any Norwegian (norsk) I learn, because that’d be just awkward, and is commonly referred to by unsightly words such as “snorsk” or “svorsk”.

    1. I know! It’s snowing outside now, and the view is amazing with the hill and the pines. And we just moved here half a year ago, and unpacked everything, too – but well… it IS a professorship, it IS a Scandinavian-speaking country (unlike here, primarily), and it IS a New Place™! ;)

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

